Showing posts with label stay motivated. Show all posts
Showing posts with label stay motivated. Show all posts

Wednesday, 16 October 2013

By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail

I know your probably sick of me taking about my latest plans etc and perhaps they same a bit samey to you after a while!
And a lot of the time they are! I’m sorry but for me there is no glamour or magic trick to loosing weight. Nope, there’s no big secret unfortunately!

For me its all about list making, pre-planning meals, pre-booking classes and keeping my food & exercise diary. Basically making the time and not excuses so that I can succeed




I know the saying "By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail” is said a lot in films and gyms and by people who are “in the zone” BUT its sooooo true and not planning has been my down fall in the past! Coming home from work hungry and tired, realising that I forgot to take out a chicken fillet that morning and deciding to throw a pizza in the oven instead because its easier than running back out to the supermarket/ butchers (both are less than a 5 min drive from my house) I get lazy and think “feck it, I’ll have a good dinner tomorrow” It’s a vicious circle with me. Now don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with having a pizza if you get caught short in the evening and are in need of a quick feed. But for me its downhill spiral. The pizza won’t fill me for my dinner (it never does) So I’ll be hungry later that evening and looking for something else, this could be a toastie, a biscuit or whatever ever else I’m “hungry” for after my crappy dinner! **Funny how I’m never hungry for fruit or my soup**

So I now take my chicken fillets out before bed and leave them to defrost in the fridge. Its amazing how one tiny little habit can make such a difference to me and my day! Its all a mental mind game and when I take my chicken out (yes, its nearly always chicken) then I feel like I’m winning. I feel more organised and prepared. Its all those little things that turn into good habits that keep me on the right road.


That’s me news/ new/not new plan of action, I feel excited now and a little bit more positive in myself. I KNOW that I can loose weight, I KNOW that I’m capable of exercising and eating right. I KNOW that when my head is in the right place that I see the results and its these results that I crave and want, so I need to remember this feeling when I’m having a speed wobble and eyeing up the cake fridge in the shops!!

As yer well aware (and probably sick of me mentioning at this stage) I’m a bridesmaid in 6 weeks, I’m looking forward to this wedding so so much that I want to enjoy every second of it and for me, this means being comfortable on the day in my dress and more importantly in my own skin..

So even tho I've A LOT of wedding related partying to do over the next 6 weeks that shouldn't mean that I cant do a lot of wedding prep work for myself, and that’s what I plan to do, up my exercise routine, eat cleaner if that’s possible, make soup to keep me filled up, drink lots and lots of water to cleanse and detox my body and skin. All this combined should equal a trimmer and healthy looking me in 6 weeks. I’m aiming to be down 14 pounds (including the 10 I've gained) BUT I hope that it will look like more because of the toning that I plan to have done from mixing up my exercise regime.




I think I’m being clever with this little plan in my pocket…I realise that’s there’s nothing at all new to my plan except my new re-found positive attitude, but sometimes that’s what you need, that little kick up the bum that make you get up off the couch and put on your runners and get out for 20 minutes.
I’m without a camera at the moment to take a photo for you but I will take one as soon as my camera comes back from the camera hospital.
Its been a while since I posted a photo of me in all my lycra glory!!



Any of ye have any little tips that help ye along or help get ye organised.
Yer comments have been lovely over the last few weeks and have given me the booster I’ve need to get back on the wagon.

So thanks to all my lovely commenters : ) xxx

Wednesday, 5 June 2013

NO WEIGH DAY!!



Hey Guys,

You know after last weeks post I was feeling a bit MEH and this carried on for me, but I could feel myself slipping and slipping and not caring enough to stop and shut my gob!! So I decided to skip my weigh in date, which I know is the worst possible thing I could do.
But this my my decision and after 20 week of never missing a weigh in I decided that I just needed a little time out for myself.

Oh I could give you lotsa excuses, my brothers home to visit from Oz after 4 years, I pulled my neck on Weds night and was pity eating and couldn't move, it was the bank holiday weekend, the weather was lovely so I had to have Ice Cream and ice lollies, HAD TO LIKE.. I could go on, but you get the idea, Moaning Myrtle, the queen of excuses is baaack!



I promise that I am by no means giving up on me or my challenge, I just needed a little reminder of what I'm not missing, so I can stop being a spoilt brat and get on with my journey.


So this is just a blip in the bigger grand plan! I don't feel the better for going off plan, BUT I don't feel bad or too guilty. This was just something that had to happen to me at some stage and now its time to put it behind me and get moving again, or possibly look into having my jaw wired shut for a few months!

After coming back from my weekend away on Monday, the weather was fab so me and the boy went for a stroll that turned into an 8 mile walk!! The longest I've ever done I think. So I'm trying to get back to super good this week.

I have a new challenge lined up, I'm just waiting on the final details and all will be revealed.

I hope you enjoyed the long weekend xx



18lbs lost, 42lbs to go.... 

Monday, 25 February 2013

Week 7 Weigh-in 2013‏





Hey Guys,
I think you can tell form the above photo how my weigh in went on Saturday! I keep looking at the photo hoping that it will cheer me up. But unfortunately it isn’t today.

I was down 1 lb this week and its my own fault. I wouldn’t say I was super bad this week, but obviously I wasn’t as good as I normally am and it showed on the scales!

Shall we do a quick recap of my week? I think its necessary.

After my weigh in last week, I went on my Valentines night out with the boy. We went for pizza and to the cinema to see Die Hard 500! I had garlic bread, pizza, fizzy drink, ice cream and rolo’s in the cinema.
The badness should have stopped there but it didn’t!
On Sunday I had a Wispa Gold.
On Monday I had a penguin bar with my cuppa at 11am instead of my pear.
On Wednesday night another trip to the cinema (Zero Dark Thirty) I had a bag of Snack a Jacks.
On Friday I had a penguin bar cuz I HAD to have it!!

So that’s 5 days out of 7 where I didn’t stick to the food plan and it showed. The foods in themselves are small (except Saturday nights hound fest!) but they all added up over the week for me.

I just couldn’t get my act together during the week, yes it was colder and the cold makes me hungry and I was feeling sorry for myself (excuses, excuses, blah, blah, blah)

I was fooling myself into thinking that because I done 3 spinning classes and 2 walks during the week, that the exercise would cancel out my picking!! I did track all the bold foods and I hold my hands up and admit that I had a bad week!
I’m hoping that its behind me now! I think the fact that I wasn’t down more has made me want to try harder! I disappointed myself this week buy loosing “ONLY ONE POUND”
I’m not sure why I hit the scales expecting to be down at least 3lbs  when in my heart I knew that I’d had a poor week! But I’m a great girl for fooling myself!

So I spoke to my advisor and she’s decided that its time for me to shake up my food plan and see will that kick start me back into action.
She also thinks that the spinning classes could be too much on my body at the moment, but has agreed to let me continue with them for a few more weeks before I have to cut them out if necessary. I’m toning my wobbly bits, when I should be loosing the fat, not toning it!! She thinks that for the moment I should stick to a 30min walk everyday and leave the spinning to a later date.

I’m not ready to stop spinning completely. Its my hobby. I enjoy and look forward to getting out of the house, me time, a good work out and sleeping like a baby afterwards.

I’m hoping that the slight changes to my foods for this week will be enough to get the scales moving a little bit faster for me.

If you’d like to know what the changes to my daily eating I’m making, let me know and I will get clicking and do a photo post of my slightly different food plan

No one said this would be easy, but I know it’ll be worth it J

So raise your water bottle and lets have a toast… “Here’s to a good week with a great result at the end”  ****fingers and toes crossed***



9lbs  lost, 51lbs to go.... 

Monday, 11 February 2013

Week 5 Weigh-in 2013‏

Hey Guys,



I was down I was down, I was down.. woo hoo.. Down 1 pound after 5 days away, followed by 3 good days a near poisoning and 2 spinning classes.
 

So as you all know at this stage I was away for my birthday in Edinburgh, it’s a lovely city to  visit, but pack your woollies and your walking shoes.
It was a very enjoyable break away, its just a shame we never got to go inside the castle as it was snowing/raining on the day we were meant to go!

The flight home was awful! There was a really bad snow shower, the take off was delayed while the wings were defrosted! So we left a snow storm and arrived into gale force winds and pissing rain in Ireland, to say the flight was bumpy was putting it mildly! And me not being a good traveller! I was not a happy camper! It was a loooong 50 minute flight for me!

BUT I’m happy to report that it was the only drama of my weekend, which for me is also a miracle! Although I did beep in security and got very thoroughly felt up. But I’m not counting that as been super bad, its pretty normal thing to happen to me!

So I was away from Friday lunch time and got home Tuesday evening. That’s a whole lot of eating our going on there I must admit. I did try to pick the healthy options for breakfast and lunch, and then I had whatever I fancied for my dinner AND I had dessert after my birthday dinner (chocolate Sundae = yummy)

Apologies - Didn't realise the flash wasn't on!



I was back to work on Wednesday and back to my routine. But I managed to try and poison myself that morning! I had the week previous left my cup to steep in bleach to vamoose the yukky black tea stains from the inside of my cup! I cleaned it afterwards and put it back in the press! I never re washed it on Weds morning and made my tea in it!! I thought it tasted funny at first but was thinking it was just me getting used to the taste of it!! I WAS WRONG!
After a quarter cup I felt awful! Stomach going like a washing machine, gagging sensation!! I dumped the drink and scrubbed and boiled my cup after that, but the damage had been done! 
I was so sick all day! Milk kind of helped and I managed to keep down 2 bits of soda bread for my breakfast! But I had to cancel my spinning class for that night!


I was half afraid to eat on Thursday, but by lunch time I was feeling much better! So I was back in action! I done a spinning class on Thursday and Friday evenings and I kept my food super simple, so that it would be gentle on me belly.


So when I hit the scales on Saturday morning , I was more than happy to be down 1lb. I had hoped to be the same after my break away and only 3 good days behind me.
But every good day counts and every meal does not have to be a bold one.
I’m learning slowly, every meal is a challenge, especially when your away, but I didn’t feel deprived when I choose the healthy option.


And I’m rather proud that I managed to loose anything after my holidays, but I’ve proved to myself and everyone else that it can be done.


A wise woman told me recently that all the 1s and 2s don’t be long adding up to stones


So now its back to the grindstone for me.



6lbs  lost, 54lbs to go....