Showing posts with label water. Show all posts
Showing posts with label water. Show all posts

Wednesday, 17 July 2013

6 week Challenge - WEEK 5 in Review



Hey Guys,

I'm on a weeks holidays this week, which is badly needed, so I've been trying to avoid computers and doing anything really!! So this  will be short!  I know I say that every week!!

Sooooo week 5
I missed training Monday night because my shoulder was still not right. I did go on Wednesday evening and it was fine, we did mostly cardio and leg exercises, so I was able to train, training in this heat is no easy feat! I was wiping the sweat from my brow and I'd no sooner have dropped the towel when I needed it again!! YUK!  So it was almost a double work out with the heat to contend with!
That was the only exercise I got in last week.... I ensured that my food was clean and fantastic Monday to Friday because I was out on Friday night for my best friends birthday. I had a LOT to drink, and the finger food didn't even tempt me, so I was happy about that.
I was very hung over on Sat and craving bad foods. I had a yummy dinner of Garlic Mushrooms and pizza.
I also got burnt in my face and chest which left me so so tired and hot!!
Sunday I was still dying (don't two day hang overs suck!) I had chipper for dinner (breast in a bun and garlic chips)

No regrets for me this week tho, sometimes life gets in the way of the best of intentions, you have to just keep going.
I wasn't sure what the scales would bring me this week, (they haven't been my friend of late)
I was down 3 pounds, which was good after the 4lb gain of last week... So I'll take it :)

Tonight is my last training session of my 6 week programme, however we will be weighed and measured next Monday to give our bodies the full 6 week benefit...


So I will let ye know how my final result of this 6 week experiment goes next week

Adios Amigos (says I as I sit out my back garden in the sunshine)







Week 1 = start
Week 2 = -4.5
Week 3 = +2
Week 4 = -2
Week 5 = +4
Week 6 = -3
Final results =

***Photos from Google Images

Sunday, 16 June 2013

6 week weight loss course



Hey Guys,

I mentioned last week that I was beginning a new challenge, and now I think its time that I share it with you all because by sharing the details and my plan, it means that I can't back out or change my mind, and knowing that spurs me along and helps me, not that I plan to back out or cheat or anything, but you know what I mean. Sharing with you is the extra kick up the ass that I find that I need.


Weight loss Course: what’s involved/ included
·         6 weeks (group sessions)
·         Weekly Nutrition plan
·         Weight Loss Planner
·         2 Training sessions per week
·         1 Nutrition session per week
·         Weekly Weigh In
·         12 places




The Details
Its in my local gym where I go spinning 2/3 times a week (only 10 mins from home), so it suits me down to the ground, the trainers and staff have been super supportive towards me since January, so I feel happy and almost confident when I train up there and under their supervision. Its now in my routine/ happy bubble/comfort zone to go there and that makes it a lot less daunting for me.



The Detox/ The Food
As with starting any kind of new healthy eating regime, the first few days are a killer with regards to detoxing and getting the sugar out of my system. I’ve been told that for the first week there will be more liquids than food. So I’m trying to mentally prepare for that! I’m such a plain Jane eater that it’s the food change that I’m dreading most of all. The muscle ache and boot camp style classes, I’m prepared for… kinda…



The Exercise
The course includes 2 x circuit classes a week, I also plan to do at least one spinning class a week, because I'd miss it if I stopped completely, and I’m hoping to get back to going for lunch time walks, I’ve gotten lazy I’ve found during the day at work and for sitting at my desk reading rather than getting out for a quick 20 minute walk.



My Feelings/ Hopes/ Goals
I need to change my routine and food in order to give myself a kick up the bum and also to shock my body into continuing to loose weight.
I feel like this is exactly what I need to be doing right now. I need to be a little bit selfish and give myself 100% for a few weeks
My goal is to loose a stone in this 6 weeks and to see how many inches I loose also, because sometimes you have to go by something other than the number on the scales. So it will be something new to report on.
My measurements will be taken on week one, three and six. I will be weighed every week



I’m both nervous and excited about this new challenge, once I get the first week and weigh in out of the way, I know that I’ll be ok! I’m always slow to change my food and routine! (on the inside I’m a 90 year old lady) but this is just what I need. New classes to shake up the routine, trying new foods to check that my taste buds are in me somewhere and maybe even going on a new scales will be a little adventure. My weigh day will change now also for the 6 weeks, so I’ll be getting weighed on Monday nights before my class. So I’ll be reporting my weight losses mid week for a bit.
I’ve been so used to being weighed on a Saturday morning, that maybe being weighed on a Monday will “keep me good” at the weekend. We’ll have to wait and see.



I’m very late posting the details I apologies! This should have gone up last week!  My first weigh in is Monday night, so I’ll be back soon to report my good news and to talk you through week one




If you are in Cork City and are looking for a new challenge/ class, then I would definitely recommend Pulse Fitness Studios

 

Pulse Fitness Studio
Unit 1A
Mayfield Business Park
Mayfield
Cork
085 1322843


http://pulsefstudio.wordpress.com/

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Pulse-Fitness-Studio-Cork/172407999572554




Monday, 28 January 2013

Week 3 Weigh-in 2013‏


Hey Guys,

I'm happy to report that I was down 2lbs this week.

I found the week a little bit tough, with the weather being all over the place!! Snow on Monday, ice and rain and cold for the rest of the week! I was lucky that I had 2 spin classes booked or I wouldn’t have gotten any exercise in at all in the week!
Its only when the weather turns like this that I regret not having a gym membership anymore!
But I definitely prefer walking the roads. It’s a great feeling to wrap up, plug the iPod into my ears and just walk, walk walk, blow away the cobwebs and leave my worries behind for just a little bit. But unfortunately with our indecisive Irish weather, this hasn’t been possible in the last 7 days.
We’ve been having the 4 seasons in one day. But never the appropriate weather at my allocated walking time!! BOO.


So I was extra careful with my portion sizes for my dinner this week and I had no slips at all this week, which I’m very proud of. I always find Thursday and Fridays evenings to be tough! I’m not sure if its because I don’t do classes on those days of because my inner demons are trying to escape out and sabotage my good days!! But I didn’t give in and I’m hoping that by not giving in, I’ll become stronger and the good habits will take over.


Everyday for me is a struggle if I’m honest! Not just with saying no to food (that will always be a toughie for me) but with things like deciding what to wear to work, this shouldn’t be as big of an issue as it is for me; and if you saw what I do wear to work half the time, you’d think I got dressed in the dark!! But even just deciding what top to put on with my black/grey trousers leaves me sleepless some nights!
 
I hate feeling uncomfortable at work, it’s a long day sitting at my desk if my top is too short or my vest wont stay tucked into my pants! I feel super self conscious and extra rotten!
And I know that this is all in my head and nobody in my office takes any notice of what I’m wearing or how I look! But its an awful feeling and this can too leak into my social life, or lack of one.

If I’m not comfortable in my “work clothes” I’m definitely not comfortable in my “weekend clothes” I’ve started avoiding going out if at all possible. The cinema is probably the only place that I’ve ventured too this month, and that’s fine because I get to sit in the dark for a few hours.
At the moment being in my pjs is my outfit of choice, not very practical or attractive! I’ve been living in a bubble of work, walk/spin, shower, tv, bed. So there’s no room or option for an outing that requires me to put on my “skinny” jeans or make the effort!!! And it sucks. Big time.


This has happened to me once before and I let it take over my life for about 6 months! I didn’t go outside the door! The thoughts of getting dolled up to go to the pub scares the life out of me!
I just feel that nothing looks nice or right on me. And I do know that everyone feels like this at some stage. But I feel like this ALL the time at the moment.

I had hoped that as the weight started to melt away that I’d be happy to try on a few bits and go out and get out of my rut! But so far this hasn’t happened! I’m half blaming the January Blues and also the weather, but I know its one of my body issues surfacing again!
When will I be comfortable in my own skin? Its not a question that I can answer and I don’t like not knowing the answer.


Its my birthday next weekend and my lovely boyfriend is taking me to Edinburgh for the weekend. Which I’m super excited about, neither of us have been there beforeJ BUT it means that I have to pack for 4 days away and 2 nights out. Its been playing on my mind for the last two weeks, trying to decide what the hell can I pack and wear and look and feel good in? The only thing that’s soothes these thoughts is that we’ve been warned that its freezing there, so I have bought a big black duvet coat, so for 80% of the trip I’ll be hidden away.
Isn’t it terrible though that I’m half dreading the trip because I can’t decide what to wear!! A total first world and probably silly problem! But the thought of it fills me with dread!


BUT I refuse to let these feelings and negative thoughts win. NO WAY! I’m working hard and I know that my thoughts and attitude have to stay positive if I’m to over come this bought of “madness”
And I know that it will get better as I loose the weight and my lovely dresses start to look like dresses rather than tents on me.

So I have to look at the positives. I’m down on the scales, I’m being taken away for my birthday and I intend to enjoy every minute of that.
I’m not going to let these horrible feelings take over my head or wreck my birthday weekend away nor will it hinder my progress.

I can do this and so can you. Stay Strong and positive.

6lbs  lost, 54lbs to go.... 



**Apologies for the rant, this was not the blog post I sat down to write! But its what came out!

Do any of ye feel like this? What do ye do to over come it?

Friday, 25 January 2013

My Daily Food Diary in photo form


Source: Google Images

Hey Guys,

Happy Friday, I hope you’ve been having a good week so far? I get a lot when people hear that I’m on my health kick/ weigh loss programme about what and when do I eat?
Trust me, I wouldn’t last on a starvation diet. I heart food waaaay too much and I know I’d break after 2 hours!! I’ve never even managed to do the 24 hour fast at Christmas that people used to do for charity!! How they lived on water and soup for 24 hours was madness in my mind! Fair play to all that have managed it though!

So I decided that I would take photos of what I eat everyday this week and show you what I’ve been eating.


Breakfast is 2 x Weetabix with skimmed milk, I heat it in the microwave and eat it as quick as I can. I just don’t like it!!




Mid Morning I have my pear and a cup of Pu-erh Tea. I drink maybe 3 or 4 cups of P tea during the working day.




Lunch at work is my Home made soup and 2 slices of McCambridge Soda Bread with butter, sometimes I toast this if I’m cold.






Dinner at home is a Chicken Fillet (Roasted with spices thrown over for flavor,)  2 Boiled potatoes mashed with gravy over and steamed Vegetables (peas, carrots, broccoli and cauliflower)





I don’t eat after my dinner. I allow myself 4 cups of “real” tea in the evening time. I love real tea there was time that I would drink 10 in the day, so cutting it to 4 is me being good.

I also drink at least 2 litres of water at work everyday and I’d have a glass of water with my dinner too..


You can tell from the above that I’m a pretty plain and boring eater, but it works for me. I wish I could sit and eat a salad. I’m told they can be filling and would bulk up my lunch, but I’ve never liked salad.

If you have any suggestions of spices to put on my chicken fillet to jazz it up, I'd love to hear em.

Wednesday, 21 November 2012

WALKS, WATER & WEE'S‏

Hey Guys,

Happy Hump DayJ The weekend is once more in sight, which is a good thing, but it also means for me that my weigh in is looming.

As you’ve guessed from the title of this post my week so fair has been full of walks, water and wee’s!! All the “W’s”
Are any of ye experiencing the same?

Walks – I must admit that I’m enjoying my 20 minute walk at lunch time. It breaks the day, gets me out, wakes me up, gets me moving and I walk extra fast because I’m always in a hurry to get back to feed my bellyJ I’ve been using an APP on my phone called “Map My Walk” it times your walk and your distance, it even marks your route in red so you can look at the distance, Anyhu I really like it, I tend to walk the same 2 or 3 routes regularly, so what I do is I try to beat my times on this app. Yes I know I’m in completion with myself, but everyday I walk the same mile a little bit faster, which is a good thing right? Today my walk took me 18 mins 40sec and I walked 1.08miles. So tomorrow I’ll try to do it in under 18 minutes. It’s the little things that keep me goingJ
Monday night I went back to Spinning, I hadn’t been to a class in nearly 5 months, so I’m happy to tell you that my back held out and I’ve had no back pain this week! The class was tough I must say, but enjoyable. It has shown me tho that I’ve become pretty unfit!! I guess walking myself at my own pace doesn’t give you much to compare yourself too!! Whereas in a class of 11 there’s no where to hide. I got thru the class and sweated buckets. So I’ll defo be going back and I hope that my fitness levels will gradually build back up in the coming months.
I was also extra good last night and went for a two mile walk with the boy in the dark. (eeeeek) It was grand tho, we stuck to well lit area’s and he laughed at my hi-vis jacket… but as I said to him, least they’ll see me, it’ll be him that’s doomed :P (joke)
I must say I’ve slept like a baby the last two nights after all the exercise, that makes me a very happy bunnyJ


Water - I’ve always drank a lot of water, so this is one of the easier things for me to do, especially when I’m sitting at my desk most of the day, I can sup away. I fill my litre bottle at 9am and again at 2pm. I then go home and drink a pint of water with my dinner. That’s usually my water done unless I go to a class in the venin, in that case I would drink another litre of water. So I drink at least 2 litres a day if not more

Wee’s – As you’ve probably guessed because of all the water that I drink (that’s excluding my 3 x herbal teas and 4/5 real teas) The bathroom has become my second home!! But this week for some reason I’m going waaaay more than usual!! I don’t know if its because its chilly or because my water is too cold from the cooler rather than being at room temperature!! But its flying through me and sending me running every 30 minutes or so! I’m not a fan of this side affect I must say and my work colleagues are probably wondering what the heck is wrong with me!!

But I will say that my system seems to be detoxed and flushed out (hard not to be at this stage) my stomach is feeling less bloated and my skin is starting to appreciate the water and is starting to clear up (huraaah) I’m definitely feeling the benefits of all the water, as I’m a very thirsty person in general) But 10 trips to the loo in the day is not suiting me at all!!
I dunno should another “W” for whinge be added to the subject line after that!! But over all I’m feeling pretty positive this week. I just hope that all the exercise won’t go against me on the scales on Saturday.

I hope your having a good week xxx



*Pic's are from Mr Google Images